Two CALs and a "feature" :)

As you may have noticed by the links in my right sidebar I’m participating in two CALs this summer 🙂 I’ve already shown you the beginning of my owl for Itsy Bitsy Spiders Great Owl Crochet-along. I finished the owl a while ago, and I made even more changes to the little bird: added embroidered eyelashes and feathers on the belly 🙂
Now the crocheting part of the Owl CAL is over (it ended on Sunday, I think), but there is going to be a swap with some of the finished owls. Signing up for the swap was optional, so I’m keeping my owl, but I really enjoy seeing lots of different owls together 🙂 Click HERE to see Karla’s post about the birds. Makes me want to make lots more owls and have them roosting on a shelf in my apartment 🙂 I’m sure Bollan wouldn’t mind! Speaking of The Great Boll: she was actually mentioned in a blog post along with my owl for the CAL 🙂 She’s so proud! Even Bollan’s own blog was mentioned 🙂 We are both very grateful to be featured on Itsy Bitsy Spider’s blog!
You see, The Itsy Bitsy Spider has this Flickr group where people are encouraged to post their latest finished crochet projects, and she will then pick some of them once a week to be featured on her blog. You can read more about this HERE. Ooh, and guess what, I’ve been featured again! With my Great Big Dung Beetle 🙂 
Thank you very much for your kind words about my Bug, I really appreciate it! Bollan and I are both very happy 😀
The second CAL I’m in is PlanetJune’s Summer CAL, where you can crochet either alpacas or a pot of African Violets. I am of course making the alpaca! I’ve started the CAL a little late, because I was so sure my mother had some alpaca yarn in her stash, but I couldn’t find it (not in the right colors, anyway – unless I want to make a blue one!), so today I finally went out and bought a ball of lovely light brown alpaca yarn 🙂 Expensive, though… So far I’ve made the ears, muzzle and head, and was ready to assemble the face, but then I discovered that I don’t have suitable safety eyes 😦 I have the right size, but the posts are both too thick and too long (and too hard to cut off), so I’ll have to come up with a different solution… No pictures of the alpaca yet, but I’ll post some as soon as I’ve made some real progress – I have until August 31st to finish it 🙂