April update and secret project

I guess you’re tired of hearing me talking about the thing I can’t talk about? πŸ˜› Well, now I’m done and the recipient has received the thing and everybody’s happy πŸ™‚

FB_IMG_1493639933695

Ta dah! This is the thing I made. Pretty big!

It started when a friend of ours mentioned that he should have a tardigrade on a banner for his family (because of word play reasons), and he suggested a slogan and everything. It was said kind of in passing years ago, so I don’t think he expected it to happen. But then another friend suggested we all chipped in and had one made since his 40th birthday was coming up this year. I said I could make it because it sounded like a fun project, and here we are πŸ™‚

20170502_132806-1

I drew the tardigrade by hand, cut it out from yellow fabric and machine sewed it to the black bit. Same with the yellow letters on top. They were a pain to cut because of the size and angles (the fabric Β is coarser than it looks, and frayed a bit even with the iron-on sticky stuff on the back). Then I stitched the details on the animal by hand, and finally the words on the bottom.

20170502_132826

Look at that face! πŸ˜€

20170502_132733-1

Claws

20170502_132659-1

Tried some stem stitch for the words on the bottom

I’d never done free hand embroidery in my life, so this was a bit of a learning experience! I think I managed fine πŸ™‚ It was fun experimenting with different stitches πŸ˜€

20170502_132916-1

After the front was all sewed, I made four loops for the top, and sewed the whole thing together with a gray fabric for the back. I would’ve used black, but I didn’t have enough, and the banner was going on a wall anyway.

The banner is about 50 cm wide and 125 cm long. Biggest thing I’ve ever made πŸ™‚

And as for my temperature blanket, that got neglected while I worked on the banner, so I never got round to fixing the ends that were left from last month… Which meant that I had a month and a half of ends to weave in once I managed to catch up on the hexes. That only took me three days or something, but I’ll be weaving in ends for weeks :/

20170503_192531-1

Anyway, here’s April πŸ™‚ Had a few warm days during Easter, which was nice. Don’t really need it to get any warmer, though πŸ˜›

20170503_192632-1

All the ends… So many ends…

Β 

Any comments?

