Temperature blanket update

We’re into our third week of the year, and I figured it was time for an update on my blanket. I haven’t crocheted every day, but often enough to catch up fairly quickly, so I’m pretty much up to date now 🙂

One day last week I was finished with all my hexes, all of them joined together, and most of the ends woven in. It was all good. Then I decided to consult my boyfriend about how to organize the rows of hexes…

Originally I intended to have 24 rows of 15 hexes, and have the last five days of the year as edge rows around the whole blanket. But then I thought that that might be a bit much, as I’d end up with ten rounds of edge… So I thought maybe I could alternate the number of hexes in each row (every other row with one less hexagon) to get a more even blanket, instead of a zig-zag one. Are you with me so far? I started doing the math and found a way it would add up without needing too many edge rounds, but then the boyfriend had a suggestion: to assemble the blanket as it were a calendar, with a week being Monday to Sunday instead of just random seven days.

I will explain 🙂 Two weeks, 14 hexes, per row. That should make 26 rows, right? But, since January 1st was a Sunday, I had to add six “blank” hexes to the beginning of the first row (which is really the last week of last year), which means I only have the first week in the first row. So I’ll need to add a 27th row to include week 52, and then I’ll get a whole “blank” week at the end as well. So it’s a little bit more work, but it means it’s easier to count out the weeks and dates when I look at this blanket later. I think? 😛

So. This was Wednesday last week, so I had a long strip of ten hexes all joined together. And with this change of plans, I had to remove the last two hexes (Monday and Tuesday), then add six beige hexes to the beginning of the row, and then attach the two removed days below the beige ones to start the second row. And now, a week later, it looks like this:

20170118_142152-1

I’m missing Monday and Tuesday here, but I wanted to show you what it looks like after two weeks. Or rather, week 2 🙂

Now, I felt like the natural way of building the blanket was from the bottom up, but with the calendar approach I had to change that. What do you think? Is there a “natural” way to make a blanket? Does this even make sense? I hope (and think) it will be pretty, though, no matter what 🙂 Maybe next year I’ll try something else. There are so many great ideas out there.

Any comments?

