Happy New Year! :)

I hope everyone has had a nice holiday and a chance to relax these past weeks šŸ™‚ We’ve celebrated with our families and will head back to our apartment in a couple of days to begin everyday life again.

I thought I would have more craftiness to post about in the second half of last year, but nothing much got finished, so I didn’t have any news to show you… I may make a summary post of the few things I did finish last year, but later šŸ™‚

Now, this year I’ve decided to start a pretty big project – a temperature blanket! I’ve seen others do this before and I’ve wanted to try it, and this year I finally got started on one before it was too late šŸ™‚

My color palette. I’m missing the warmest colors (orange and red, possibly another shade of red if we get an extreme heatwave), but those temperatures are still far away, I’ll manage with the colors I have for months yet šŸ˜› The gray/beige is the background color.

I decided to make hexagons, as stripes are boring and I’ve just finished a blanket of squares. The hexes are small, only 7 cm across, so a blanket with 360 or so hexagons won’t become too big to have in the house šŸ™‚

The first five days of the year! The inner color is the lowest temperature of the day, the second color is the highest temperature. And then a round of the background color, plus a round to join the hexes together. I’ve used this tutorial for the pattern and joining technique.

I really hope I can keep this up through the whole year! I think it will be a very pretty blanket if I do šŸ™‚ And if I don’t finish (but keep notes of the daily temperatures), it will be a project to complete during next year’s Ravellenic Games šŸ˜›

Any comments?

