Bokken bag

I think I mentioned in another post that I’ve started doing Aikido this semester, and part of our training is with weapons. So far we’ve practiced mainly with jo, which is a 4-foot long staff, and a little bit with bokken, a wooden version of the samurai sword.

wpid-20141021_150619.jpg

As it happens, my boyfriend used to do Nin-jutsu years ago, and he had an old bokken lying around that I could have. So now I have my own! And of course it needs some protection from the elements when I travel, so I made a bag for it πŸ™‚

wpid-20141021_150501.jpg

It’s a very simple thing, just one long piece of fabric folded in half and a shoelace to tie it together a couple of inches from the top. To close the bag, I just fold the opening down and wrap the shoelace a few times around and tie it up.

wpid-20141021_150413.jpg

I made it long enough to hold a jo as well, in case I ever get one. I didn’t make any straps for carrying the bag on my shoulder, because I figured the placement would change depending on the length of the things inside. But it’s not heavy at all, so it’s just as easy to just carry it. Maybe I’ll figure something out later, like an adjustable crochet strap or something.

(For anyone who’s following this blog, it might seem odd that a post published in October suddenly pops up now, but I had uploaded the post and somehow saved it as a draft instead of publishing it, and I didn’t realize until now. So here it is, better late than never πŸ˜› )

Any comments?

