August update

It’s been a lot quieter here on the blog than I expected in the beginning of August, but there are a few reasons for that.

A little over two weeks ago my grandmother passed away, 89 years old. She would have been 90 in October. She’d been struggling with her health since Easter, and all of the time I was home this summer she stayed in a care home. Then in August she was hospitalized with pneumonia and passed away on August 30th. I’m glad I got the chance to see her again before that.

At the beginning of the semester I started doing Aikido, which left me sore and hurting for days after each practice. So that meant I didn’t do much besides crawling around feeling very sorry for myself. But at the same time very happy, because I’d wanted to do some sort of martial art for years, and this year I finally dug up the courage to actually try it. Doing a little bit better now after three weeks, but I still have bruises all over my knees and butt…

And the third reason for my absence is simply that I haven’t really done any crafting worth posting about. I haven’t even touched a crochet hook since June or something, but I’ve knitted a little. I just felt like relaxing with something that isn’t going to be a pattern, something that’s just for me, and knitting works better for that than crochet, I think. So I’ve been working on a huge knitting project for weeks now, and the end is still not in sight. Which, for once, is fine 🙂 Hopefully it will be done by Christmas, but I don’t feel like rushing. Maybe I’ll make a wip post about it sometime.

So yeah. Two trips home and generally being busy with various stuff has kind of ruined the start of this semester for me. I have a lot of catching up to do, especially with an early exam in just three weeks. I’m not sure if I will post any new projects or patterns any time soon, but I have a sneaking suspicion that now that I have to start studying, the urge to crochet and design will return. Already thinking about a little something for Halloween…

Any comments?

