Knitted pointy hat

First project of the year is finished! Knitted and felted Link hat ๐Ÿ™‚

2014-01-29_00.05.21_medium2I’ve been playing (or trying to play – I still haven’t made it past the first dungeon) the new Legend of Zelda game since I got it for Christmas, and so of course I had to make myself a pointy hat like Link the hero has. His is green, but I’m wearing a green jacket at the moment, and I didn’t want to end up looking like Robin Hood or something, so I knitted mine in black. I already had a few balls of suitable black yarn left over from a crocheted hat that I started last year and never finished. I unraveled the crochet project and will probably use what remains for something else. I used a little over three balls of yarn for the knitted hat, so I have less than one ball left. And of course the yarn is no longer sold. Meh. Perhaps it’s enough for a pair of wristwarmers or something?

I finished knitting last night, and while the hat was totally wearable as it was, I felt like it was just a little bit too wide. Two rounds in the washing machine on a gentle program on 30 degrees C along with a small towel and it felted just enough ๐Ÿ™‚ Before felting:

2014-01-29_00.06.26_medium2There is no pattern for this thing, I just made it up as I went. I think I cast on somewhere between 70 and 90 stitches (I didn’t count) and knit about three inches before I did a round of holes to fold the edge up. Then I knit another three inches, folded the work in half along the holes and knit the stitches from the cast-on edge together with the others (so I didn’t have to sew!). From there I knit maybe four or five more inches before I started decreasing on every 10th or 12th round or so. Then I just kept going until I had like ten stitches left, and done! It measured 68 cm in length before felting and 49 cm after.

2014-01-29_00.07.31_medium2

Any comments?

