Ziggy bag

Remember this summer, I mentioned I was making a bag for the boyfriend? It’s done!

image

And it’s really huge! He needed something to carry his note stand in, because the plastic bag he’s been using since he bought the thing is falling apart. He specifically wanted me to put the Ziggy Stardust lightning bolt on it (or something like that – I’m not a Bowie fan and can’t keep up with all the references), so I did. Bollan helped with the appliquΓ© πŸ™‚

image

Can’t believe how long this has taken me to finish this. The fabric was bought last January, and I promised him it would be done by Easter… I finally started the bag during my summer holiday when I got a new sewing machine (my old one was driving me nuts!), and now it’s finally all done, attached the handles earlier today πŸ™‚

image

It is pretty big, measures about 70cm in length and 40cm in height, not including the bottom. The lid closes with velcro. The outer fabric is thick cotton canvas, stiffened with an iron-on backing, the bottom is denim, also stiffened, and the lining is plain brown cotton. The whole bag is sewn with extra strong thread to hold the weight of the note stand. The boyfriend hasn’t tested it yet, so I can only hope it works. It should, after all the hours I’ve put into it…

Well, I’m putting the sewing machine away for now. Moving on to finishing a pattern that’s been almost done for days. I thought I’d have it ready today, but yesterday my dear old (and much hated) laptop died, so I have to borrow my boyfriend’s to finish it. Will try to have it up tomorrow, I promise!

In the meantime, I’ll work on my nalbinding slippers πŸ™‚

Any comments?

