A bit of disappointed knitting

Yes, it is actually possible for me to get disappointed over something craft related. Something I thought would be really cool, and then it was just ‘meh’…

A couple of days ago I was very exited to see that PlanetJune has taken up knitting. There were some vague hints of it some time last year, when she asked on her Facebook page how we’d like it if she designed some knitting patterns. I was ecstatic, as everything the lady does is awesome 🙂 And sure enough, when she posted about her first ever knitting project this week, the result was very good, and I was quite jealous.

Because, you see, she’d done something that I can’t: knit small things in the round. She posted the link to a tutorial on how to knit with a really long circular needle and using the magic loop method, and of course I was eager to give it a try. Maybe it would work for me as well, so I can finally knit my own socks and wrist warmers…

For this method you need circulars with a pretty flexible cable, which I didn’t have, so off I went and got a set of KnitPro (KnitPicks for you in the US) with a screw-on cable. And while I was there, I got two more sizes of needles. I got the acrylic ones because I love the DPNs that I have, and they’re so colorful and festive 🙂 But guess what, the colors aren’t the same! All the sizes have a different color, and I just assumed that the circulars would follow the same color code, but they don’t. The two smaller sizes are the same, but the 4.5mm needles are green, and they are supposed to be yellow. Weird.

image

Anyway. To the disappointment. There are two things, really. One, is that the joins on the needles snag the yarn a bit. Both between the cable and the needle, and between the metal and the plastic of the needle. So that’s a boo.

The other reason is that because of the method used (as you can see if you watch the video), the last stitches on every needle become super tight, because cable is so much thinner than the needle, and you end up pulling the stitches tight whether you mean to or not. And then when it’s time to switch sides, it’s really hard to slide the row of stitches onto the other needle because of those last stitches.

image

See what I mean? That last stitch is tiny! That could be why it snags so badly, but I don’t know. I guess it doesn’t help that my knitting is super tight in general. So, I thought that I would finally be rid of those stupid gaps between the needles (ladders, I’ve seen them called), but nope. They are still there, despite the tight stitches. But at least now there are only two, instead of three or four 🙂 Oh, and another plus with this method is that I can hold the knitting closer to my face without fear of poking my eyes out! Heh.

Oh well. I’m going back to my Easter crochet project now. I was just so anxious to test my new needles when they arrived today. I hope to have the project done before next week, so stay tuned 🙂

Any comments?

