Two new Bugs

In early January I promised that I would finish some of the patterns I’d been working on for ages, and I’m happy to say that I did! I have two new Great Big Bugs to show you πŸ™‚

(Actually, the patterns have been done for a while now, but I never got around to posting about them. Ahem. Shame on me, bad blogger…)

First, I finished the pattern for this Great Big Crane fly. She seriously has the longest legs I’ve ever seen, and definitely the longest bug legs I’ve made!

Personally I don’t like crane flies much, they remind me too much of spiders. Flying spiders! This crocheted one came out a total cutie, though, but in case she still freaks you out a little, here’s a little trick for incapacitating it:

See? Completely harmless πŸ˜›

The second pattern I completed was the male firefly, the mate for the first firefly I did years ago. Finally they can be together πŸ™‚

Last summer I got a new camera that can take proper photos in the dark, so I actually got some pretty good pictures of the firefly glowing. The glowing parts that you see are its bum and eyes:

And while I was at it, I took new pictures of the female firefly and updated the old pattern with better glow photos. Here’s a picture of the two glowing together:

Aww! πŸ˜€

One thought on “Two new Bugs

Any comments?

