Three Great Big Bugs at once :)

I finished three Bugs this summer, a wasp, an aphid and the male firefly. I started the firefly shortly after I finished the female last fall, and the other two I started some time around Christmas. The bodies and most of their body parts had been done for months when I finally sat down and finished them. You’d think that assembly is the easy part… πŸ˜›

Anyway, here they are:

The wasp is modeled after the Common wasp (Vespula vulgaris), and it’s my most complicated pattern so far, with all the color changes on the body. I tried to keep it as easy as possible, though, with the patterning and the decreases/increases on separate rounds πŸ™‚

The aphid is modeled after the Rose aphid that I’ve seen on my grandmother’s roses. They are mainly green, but they also come in red/pink or black, so feel free to experiment with the colors on this one πŸ™‚ There are a couple of rounds of front post single crochet on the body of this Bug, but apart from that, it’s not a complicated pattern.
The firefly is the same species as the first one (the common glowworm), but the male and female look very different. The male is a fairly ordinary brown beetle with a glowing bum, while the female stays more like the larva her whole life, and never develops wings.

The patterns for the wasp and aphid are available on Ravelry, and I’ll be adding them to Etsy soon. I’m still not quite finished with the firefly pattern, because I’ve been so busy with my exam lately. Things should calm down soon, so I hope to have it ready before the weekend πŸ™‚ I’ve thought about listing the two fireflies as a set, though I’m not really sure how this would work on Ravelry. Do they allow you to post the same patterns twice, in different combinations? I’ll have to do a little research and get back to that. In the meantime, I hope you enjoy the aphid and the wasp πŸ™‚

Any comments?

