I’m still here

Just thought I’d post a little something to let you all know that I’m still alive ๐Ÿ™‚ I just finished taking notes from a really long chapter about eukaryotic cells, and I thought I’d take a small break before I start doing the exercises. *sigh* I read through the chapter last week, but for some reason I didn’t take notes. Don’t ask why… Next week I plan to start on the math. I haven’t done it sooner because I need to borrow a fancy calculator from a friend who won’t arrive in town before Sunday :/ Hope I have time to do it all. I figure that if I don’t spend more than two weeks on each chapter, I’ll get through the whole book by the end of November. Fingers crossed ๐Ÿ™‚
Though I really need to focus on my studying this fall, I hope I’ll be able to get some crafting done as well (I have to do something, or I’ll probably go insane). I’m almost done with a new Great Big Bug – a firefly – and I have another one started. Plus I’d like to make another firefly as a mate to the first one. I have only four legs left to make! I’ll do my best to finish it by this week ๐Ÿ™‚ For the body I’ve used glow-in-the-dark yarn (yellow Bernat) for the first time! I ordered it from here, but I’m not sure I’d recommend it to people ouside of US or Canada, the shipping cost was insane compared to the price of the yarn :/ I tried ordering another brand (white Nightlights) from another site, but they had problems with overseas shipping, so I didn’t really have a choice. Of course I could have waited until they had their issues fixed, but you know me :p Anyway, here’s a sneak peek at the firefly:

She’s quite large, and the back end really does glow! I’m pretty pleased with this one ๐Ÿ™‚

Oh, another thing… I’ve managed to get tangled up in a craft project with a deadline ofย  August 31st, so that naturally has priority right now. Not sure how much I can talk about it yet, so if you feel like I haven’t posted much craftyness lately it’s not because I haven’t done anything ๐Ÿ™‚ I promise I’ll tell you more about it when I know how it turns out!

And then there’s the tatting ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m hooked! On the bus here I started a new project, and during the next two or three days I finished my first “big” item, a crocodile bookmark ๐Ÿ™‚ Thought it would be cool to put in my biology book. The pattern is called “Alligator bookmark” from the book Animal Bookmarks – A Tatted Zoo by Dianna Stevens, but I think it looks more like a crocodile than an alligator. I like crocodiles better ๐Ÿ™‚


Bookmarks are both practical and fun to make, and I think it’s becoming a new obsession ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m not at all a fast tatter, so I can only make a few rings and chains every night, but I’ve just finished a thistle bookmark from this pattern. It doesn’t say how many colors to use, but I made mine in green and pink. Pictures will probably be up on Flickr and Facebook tonight or tomorrow ๐Ÿ™‚
One thought on “I’m still here

Any comments?

