Long time & a new hobby :)

Feels like it’s been ages since I last posted on this blog… Two weeks! I have lots of things to post about, but I’ll start with the most recent news: I’m learning to tat! Like I need another hobby :pΒ 
It started last weekend (I think – I’ve been a little lost in time lately), when I was searching my grandmother’s house for a pair of hand carders both she and my mother insisted she had. (Another story, I’ll tell you later!) Anyway, I didn’t find the carders, but I did find a whole lot of other things, and among them were two tatting shuttles. One old and one newer plastic thingy. I remembered that my mother learned to tat when I was younger, and she had bought the new shuttle. The old one looks like it’s home made, carved from bone or something, and we think it has belonged to my great grandmother. She lived from about 1890 to 1966, so the shuttle could be pretty old πŸ™‚
So naturally I had to learn tatting πŸ˜€ My mother sat down and showed me one evening (last Thursday, I think), and the next day I had finished my first tatted item! The pattern is Flower Bookmark by Yarnplayer (you should check our her blog, she makes awsome things and she has just published her second pattern book!). Since I don’t have threads in any fancy colors (at least not in the same size) I made the bookmark in one color and added some beads for a little sparkle πŸ™‚
Now I just need to learn to do the split chain and split ring, and I should be able to make most of the simpler patterns πŸ™‚ But the split thing is complicated, and the best thing would be to get it explained by a person. Pictures and text just isn’t the same :/ Also the picots are still a pain to do, I can never get them the same size! I guess it just takes practice. And then some more practice! :p
A lot of the patterns I want to try requires use of two shuttles, which I didn’t have (since my mother was using the other one), so I fairly quickly went online and ordered some more shuttles and a few books, both for learning and patterns. And the best part is, I didn’t have to pay much for it, since I’m splitting the “loot” with my mother and mostly used her money πŸ˜€ But then yesterday I got tired of waiting for the new shuttles and decided I’d try and make some myself! I posted the tutorial on my pattern blog if anyone should be interested in trying without spending money on new shuttles πŸ™‚ And the shuttles work, too!Β 
Turned out I really didn’t have to go through all that trouble yesterday, because today I got three new shuttles in the mail! Yay πŸ™‚ They are so pretty and comfortable! One plated brass filigree shuttle bought on eBay, and two Peter Cua shuttles bought from this site. The latter shuttles are both 2 inches long and made from horn, and one is etched with a phoenix motif. It’s so beautiful! There is a dragon shuttle I’d like as well, but it was sold out. Maybe later πŸ™‚

I tested the filigree shuttle earlier today, and it’s great to work with! I made a really tiny bug from this pattern.Β 
The metal shuttle is probably a bit heavy for some, but I think both the weight and size is perfect for me πŸ™‚ I felt that the old shuttle I was using was just a little bit too long for me. It will be interesting to try the cheap plastic ones we’ve ordered, I suspect they are very long (especially the ones with the pick on one end) and very light. I like to feel the weight of the tools I’m working with, otherwise they very often just fly out of my hands… Well, now it’s on to practice some more with my new shuttles πŸ˜€
One thought on “Long time & a new hobby :)

  1. Congratulations on learning a new art! Come visit my tatting blog if you get bored! I'm a fellow tatter! β™₯ I haven't posted since Easter but I've been tatting for over 30 years (yikes).
    ~TattingChic β™₯

Any comments?

