The Olympic hat…

It seems that everyone makes them these days, and everyone has their own version. There are several patterns out there, I’m not even sure which one I’ve used. I think I did my own version, too… I guess I shouldn’t have, because I’m not too happy with the result. When the hat was big enough to try on I realized it was too small, so I did one more round of increase and just kept going. This resulted in a very long hat with a somewhat pointy top. If I push it forward it looks a bit like a Phrygian hat… *sigh*

I wanted it to be floppy, like the one I’ve been wearing lately (knitted by my mother from this pattern – sorry, only in Norwegian), but it looks a little flat and weird… I think the hat is just too small for me, so I guess I’ll sell it on the market this summer.Β 

The problem might be that I crocheted the whole thing in single crochet, which makes it tight and not very stretchy… So that’s why I decided to try again, this time doing the whole hat in half-double crochet. That saved me a lot of rounds πŸ™‚ It came out a little big, but I don’t think it’ll fall off my head, so I’m happy with it πŸ™‚

Here is a picture of the two hats for comparison…
Any comments?

