Guess what!

I have taken up bead weaving πŸ˜€ Heh… As if I really need another hobby! Actually I do, I have to try something new every now and then, when I get tired of whatever I’m doing. All my crafting interests come and go in cycles, and some things I try once and give up very quickly. Knitting, crocheting and beading are hobbies I think will stay interesting as long as I can make cute critters πŸ™‚
Anyway, the other day I went out to pick up the package from my mother at the post office, and unfortunately for my wallet the craft store is in the same building.. So I went in an bought a loom, beading needles and some nylon string, and went home and got to work πŸ™‚ The loom is a pretty cheap wooden construction, but it works well enough, it’s just a little small.

Sadly the craft store only had black and white string, but I’ve been experimenting with embroidery floss as warp threads, and that works, too. I stretches a little, so I have to tighten it a few times, but it doesn’t break, and I have more colors to choose from πŸ™‚ For the weaving I use ordinaryΒ sewing thread. I worry that it will break with use, so I weave it through the work a few extra times to be sure.
First I tried a pattern from my new book, Lovable Beaded Creatures, for a keychain with a lizard motif. The choice of background color wasn’t the best, so the lizard is pretty hard to see. Next I made another thing from this pattern, but I’m not sure what to do with it. It’s a little big for a key chain. The patterns for the bracelets are my own, and I’ll be adding them to my pattern blog when I’ve finished them and drawn up the charts πŸ™‚

Together with my beads there was another thing in the package, a surprise from my mother. It’s a door sign! Of course Bollan’s name is put first, she rules us all πŸ™‚ The sign is hand painted by my mother, and the flowers are glued on. It’s very pretty, Bollan is very pleased that it’s going on our door so “everyone” can see where she lives πŸ™‚

Any comments?

