Tunisian crochet

Not sure why, but when I woke up this morning with a pretty mean hangover from the wine last night, I just had to figure out how to do Tunisian crochet! I have done it once before, in high school, but when I tried it again a couple of years ago, I had forgotten. So, way too early in the morning, onto the internet I went and found two pretty good tutorials. This has good written explatations and a few, but clear pictures. The only drawback is that it includes few types of stitches and does not explain how to increase/decrease. This one, however, has other stitch types, increase/decrease and everything, but I find it a little messy and crowded with pictures. It also has links to other sites and video tutorials. None of these two sites are complete with everything you need to know about Tunisian crochet, so I would check out both of them. They are more than good enough to get you started, though 🙂
I have not yet found any good (and free) patterns for making anything other than coasters and potholders, so I guess I’ll have to make something up for myself. So far I have made this little test, practicing color changes and different stitches. The colors are a bit grim, but as I am very lazy today I just grabbed whatever was closest.. That lumpy part in the middle is made with double stitches and the rest is simple stitches. I really love the three-color change, I have to make more stuff with it, but with better colors 🙂 I don’t have a Tunisian crochet hook, so I just used a regular straight crochet hook. It worked just fine, but I can’t make anything wider than 20 stitches.. We’ll see, maybe I run out and buy a proper hook some time next week.
Hot pink, black and rusty brown. Very nice :p
Any comments?

